North Adams

Iconic Massachusetts Photography Studio Demolished After 160 Yrs
Iconic Massachusetts Photography Studio Demolished After 160 Yrs
Iconic Massachusetts Photography Studio Demolished After 160 Yrs
According to Historic North Adams, The history of 19 and 21 Eagle Street dates back to in the 1800’s. The 21 Eagle Street portion was the first to be built as a criminal lockup between 1864 and 1869. In 1869, bought by the Tower Brothers, Horace and Henry Tower due to the building being unfit for a criminal lockup. The two brothers renovated the building including the construction of the 19 Eagle Street Portion in 1870, and started using it as a butcher shop in 1876 (100 years after The Declaration of Independence).

Load More Articles